Applications for the Post of Assistant Professor available - Click here

Cauvery Education Society, Gonikoppal was established in the year 1968.

Great personalities of this tiny district Kodagu (Coorg), visualized, conceptualized, implemented and steered the course of a premier educational hub in southern part of this beautiful Kodagu District, in the name of Goddess Cauvery. They have been the inspiration and motivation, their untiring work and have taken this institution to great heights. These visionaries are,

Sri.Deyanda.N.Devaiah, Sri.Chekkera.B.Muthanna, Capt.Maneyapanda.N.Nanjappa,

Sri.Ajjikuttira.N.Somaiah, Sri.Kollimada.C.Mandanna, Sri.Chiriyapanda.P.Kushalappa,

Sri.Pattada.M.Uthappa, Rao Bahadur Kodira.T.Uthappa, Sri.Chekkera.B.Pemmaiah, Sri. Buttiyanda M Appaji.

Prior to 1968 there was no facility for higher education in South of Kodagu. Students who aspired to have Pre university or Degree Courses had the option of either going to Madikeri or colleges outside Kodagu which resulted in great hardship to rural people who could not afford educational costs. Hence  due to the persuasion of Sri.Deyanda.N.Devaiah, a committee had been constituted for the purpose of starting a college that was called Gonikoppal College Committee headed Capt. Maneyapanda. N. Nanjappa as its President which had deliberated on getting finances and finding a place to construct the College building. As a positive outcome of this movement  a meeting was held on 4.1.1968 in the Virajpet Taluk Development Board meeting hall, Ponnampet under the Chairmanship of Sri. Chekkera. B. Muthanna in connection with starting of a college in Virajpet Taluk. Starting the college for the higher education was given the green signal and it was decided to locate the college in Gonikoppal as it happened to be the central place with best communication and other facilities. A committee was formed with the following members to take further necessary action in this formation.

Sri. C.B.Muthanna, Sri. H.M.Appanamaiah, Capt. M.N.Nanjappa, Sri. A.N.Somaiah, Sri. K.G.Ponnappa, Sri. C.B.Pemmaiah, Sri. C.P.Kushalappa, Sri. D.N.Devaiah, Sri. K.G.Muddappa, Sri. J.M.Aiyappa, Sri.B.P.Ramanna, Sri.C.B.Monnaiah, Sri.M.P.Chengappa, Sri. C.M.Aiyappa, Sri. K.C.Medappa, Sri. B.M.Appaji, Sri. K.C.Mandappa, Capt. Kelapanda Ponnanna, Sri. Mukkatira P Thimmaiah, Rao Bahadur. K.T.Uthappa, Sri. P.M.Uthappa, Sri. B.A.Poovaiah, Sri. T.N.Medappa, Sri. Habibulla Khan, Sri. K.M.Somaiah, Sri.P.M.Madaiah, Sri.N.B.Uthappa, Sri.S.S.Ramamurthy, Sri. A.S.Chinnappa, Sri. Macharanda Mandappa, Sri. K.M.Chinnappa, Sri. M.M.Chengappa, Sri. Kanjithanda Kushalappa

16 members of Virajpet Taluk Development Board, 40 Chairmen of all Village Panchayaths of Virajpat Taluk

Gonikoppal High School office was the first office of the Society.  Society was registered on 22.4.1968 as – Coorg Cauvery Educational Society with its headquarters at Gonikoppal. First meeting of the members of Coorg Cauvery Education Society took place on 28.1.1968. First Nine members nominated to the Governing Council were  President Sri. A.N.Somaiah, Vice President Sri. C.B.Muthanna, Secretary Sri. D.N.Devaiah, Correspondent Sri. K.C.Mandanna, Sri. P.M.Uthappa, Rao Bahadur K.T.Uthappa, Sri. C.P.Kushalappa, Capt. M.N.Nanjappa and Sri. C.B.Pemmaiah.  On 16.6.1968  the college was named the college as Cauvery College.

The doyens who took the institution to greater heights in the subsequent years are, Sri.Ajjamada.K.Nachappa, Dr.Mukkatira.M.Chengappa, Sri.Chiriyapanda.K.Poovappa, Sri.Kuppanda.A.Chinnappa, 

                 Sri. Cheppudira.P.Belliappa, Sri.Ajnikanda.T.Bheemaiah, Sri.Kattera.N. Jaji Uthappa.